DIY Organization: 4 tips for small work areas

I have recently become obsessed with DIY projects and because of this wanted a room to work in.  Unfortunately, we live in a small residence which did not fit my needs.  I decided to make our small storage room into my workshop, removing all thing unneccessary and hiding left over items behind a curtain (who doesn’t do this in dire situations (:).  I was able to bring in my desk………which I love, but is quite large.  And with a few DIY tricks, I am able to have the things I use most out of boxes and in reach.  Here are four of the tips I have used and love, and hope you can utilize as well.

1. Ribbon holder.  This very handy ribbon holder was made in just minutes and all you need is a drill and kabob skewers.  I used the drill to make small holes about one inch deep.  I then took the skewers and gently hammered them into the holes. They were stable, but for extra stability I also used wire to hold up the two holders with the most ribbon.  The third has no wire and is for the ribbon I use the most, and can be easily removed from the skewer.

2. All purpose holder.  This all-purpose holder is actually an over the door shoe organizer.  I bought two and used this one to organize all my pencils, paint brushes, paints, glues, scissors, markers, etc.  For the small price I paid, this was a huge investment as having things so handy is just so convenient.

3. Display your colors!!  I love art and all the amazing mediums that can be used to create it.  I also love the convenience of seeing my paint and being able to simply pluck it out of the container without the hassle of swimming through a tote of mixed paints.  To organize the acrylic paint, I did the same thing with kabob skewers as I did for the ribbon.  I like how it hangs like a display, so neat and handy.  To organize the watercolors, I used the holder they came in and added ribbon to keep the paint from falling out.  After that I simply hung it on the wall.

4. A Super Pretty way to hold and recycle plastic grocery bags.  I love boxes.  I love the colors, the shapes, the storage :)……..so I decided to put one to a very practical use.  I used this pretty striped box I got with a gift (from Things Remembered) and I cut a hole in the side.  I then screwed it onto the wall and stuffed it full of plastic grocery bags.  Now I have a pretty storage for them and it is quite convenient as well!  Here’s to organization made pretty!!

Leave a Reply

